eviesketchies











{September 21, 2012}   Sketchdump…whatever number I’m on

So more sketches.  Lately I’ve been working overtime at work and coming home completely exhausted.  Cheuk works a different schedule every week, so time together isn’t guaranteed, making it difficult to know how to plan my evenings.  Still, I’ve been making myself draw every day.  The result is less than enjoyable, but at least it keeps my ‘skills’ alive, whatever skills I have.  Sorry for all the Korra cosplayer sketches in here.  A friend of a friend cosplayed as Korra and when I saw her photo album on facebook I got a tiny bit obsessed   She was just SO MUCH like Korra that I had to draw her.  That, and I got a white Princess Celestia from Toys R Us.  She sits by my computer and is so pretty I often wind up just drawing Princess Celestia.

Batgirl ❤ Her torso is off, but I'm too lazy to fix it.

I was hungry when I sat down to draw, so I’m pretty sure that’s why I drew a dragon. It didn’t look right though, so I decided to escape people examining it too closely by making it not alive

I’d miss plumbing and air conditioning, but I’d love to live in the jungle.

Best Princess.

I quite like both Cadance and Shining Armor. I’m excited to see more of them in Season 3.

I just needed to draw something and I was too tired to get up and sharpen my pencil. so here is this blurry sketch of… someone.

I’d probably benefit from actually drawing models in front of me, but for now the ones in my head will have to do.

Korra makes the BEST faces. I don’t really do them justice.

I drew the hand first, then realized a wing was the only thing thin enough to fit in the grasp of the fingers, so…there’s a bird.

See, this is what i mean. I sit, stare blankly at the paper, then glance to the side and see my Princess Celestia doll (can you call it a doll if it’s not humanoid?) and things like this show up on the page. She’s just SO pretty.

Initially, I was going to do a series of headshots of all my female characters, trying to illustrate the idea “There are lots of different ways to be a girl,” which was Lauren Faust’s initial premise when creating the personalities for the ponies. But… I never did any after this one Oh well, better that I started with Opal than Spark, given the overabundance of Spark in my sketchbooks.

Bloo, Mac, human Twilight Sparkle and Spike, in my style. I miss Foster’s so much. I’m actually looking forward to Craig and Lauren’s new show “Wander over Yonder” now that I found out Bloo’s voice actor, Keith Ferguson, will be in it. He is the most under-appreciated VA genius.

I was listening to a song that I thought Spark would want to dance to (unfortunately, I can’t remember what it was now…) but when her dance pose didn’t work out, this sufficed.

Her eyes are too big, like Disney proportions. DX

Sooo, yeah, this girl that cosplayed as Korra… oh and there was an Asami girl there that was pretty good too, but that Korra @__________@
Interestingly enough, her costume was one of the least accurate in the details compared to the other girls, but her POSE and her EXPRESSION were so Korra that she stole the show, completely.

See. I should probably move her off of my desk, so that I’m forced to be more creative. But, she’s so pretty.

I find myself revisiting the old comic book worlds that I used to mentally inhabit for the first time again since high school, really. I think it’s because while at my parents house at the beginning of the summer I found my old Harley Quinn and Batgirl dolls. Brought it all back, I guess.

Right. So, confession time. I have a new guilty pleasure: HBO’s animated series “The Ricky Gervais Show.”. I say guilty because the profanity in this show is horrendous. I mean, it’s gratuitous and awful. BUT, the show is hilarious. And on days when I really need a laugh, it always delivers. I’ll post a link below so that you get the idea.

This was the clip that the drawing is based on.

KORRAAAAAAAAAAA

She *became* Korra. It was awesome. And actually looks nothing like her in real life. She had full body make up and everything in order to be the right skin tone.

I guess it’s love? I enjoy these two a lot, but I seem to have ADD when it comes to going into any detail. I get easily distracted and can’t seem to imagine what they do together or what they talk about. All I know is that they are happy.

Based on a song that is one of the most unbelievably beautiful tributes to come out of the brony community. I’ll post the link.

Just… LISTEN.

Okay, probably shouldn’t have used a pen for this. I definitely needed an eraser here…

Krissy turnaround sheet

The middle pose has wrong legs. She’d fall over like that.

Not like we didn’t have enough pictures of Spark, but she’s fun to draw.

That top one looks a little off… the bottom one is spot on, for better or worse, hahahah.

ArynChris says:

Babs is the best Batgirl ever, and always will be. No question.

The hand with the bird… is marvelous.

Actually, I saved the hand with the bird and wanna figure out how to make it a desktop background (I have a weird version of Linux, not always obvious how to do this stuff), because that is just DARLING. And Cuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuute!



Hahah I’m glad my random doodles have someone who appreciates them 🙂 Kudos to you for using Linux too, that stuff is not for the weak of heart.



CallyAnn says:

Your comment is awaiting moderation.

MOAR SKETCHES!

You’ve drawn that African-looking woman before, right? In one of your other sketch dumps? You should draw more of her. I like her. 😀 The little bird is the cutest! It looks so perplexed and sweet. And tiny! So adorable! I would never think to draw someone holding a bird’s wing like that. Opal looks so cute! She looks a little younger than usual, but I’m not sure why. Shorter face, maybe? Rapunzel’s face is a adorable too. Her neck kind of looks too thick, though, almost like she has an Adam’s Apple. You have really pretty handwriting @_@ It’s so elegant. WAHHHHH! Your humanized Spike is, is, is, hnnnnnngggggg. SO CUTE. Bloo looks hilarious. That’s a funky critter! I think that guy was onto something about an owl head as a defense mechanism. Then again, some owls are pretty scary, so that could backfire. XD Armera has such an interesting Elfin look about the features of her face. It really contrasts with the roundness of her muscular physique. What do Van and Armera like to talk about? That Lullaby for a Princess is really amazing. It has such a haunting-yet-soothing sound.

And my favorite part, the Krissies and Sparks *hearts* She has such fun expressions. I especially love the Krissy turn around and her groaning face, haha!
Reply



Leave a Reply

et cetera
